Pathways Logo

Transportation

The Specialist High Skills Major (SHSM) program in Transportation gives students an opportunity to specialize, gain qualifications, and plan a career pathway in various areas of the Health and Wellness sector while still in high school. The SHSM Program has a number of required components, designed to give students a “leg-up” to pursue post-secondary opportunities in each of the identified sectors, valuing apprenticeship, college, community, university or the workplace.

Transportation is essential to our everyday life. Different modes of transportation include air, rail, road, water, cable, pipeline and space, which provide many career options for those interested in the field. Skilled automotive service technicians, who need to know the basics of everything from seat-belt systems to the latest diagnostic equipment, are in great demand, although the transportation industry offers many other opportunities. Below are some careers to consider in the transportation sector and the education required to be qualified for these jobs.

LOCATIONS:

HDSB SECTOR BROCHURE:

Screen Shot 2020-01-16 at 1.57.10 PM.png

PROGRAM NAME Contact      LOCATION CITY SHSM FLYER

Auto Collision Repair and Refinishing

Automotive Service & Repair

Trevor Bezzina
 
Bill (James) Long
Craig Kielburger Secondary School Milton Craig Kielburger Transportation SHSM Program Brochure

Transportation

 

Rick Jarvie
jarvier@hdsb.ca
Georgetown District High School Georgetown

Visit Website 

Georgetown Transportation SHSM Program Brochure

Transportation

Mark Rullo

rullom@hdsb.ca

Abbey Park High School Oakville

Electric Vehicle Technology and Engineering SHSM Brochure

Transportation 

Joe Cannella
cannellaj@hdsb.ca

Brittany Doyle

doyleb@hdsb.ca

M.M. Robinson High School Burlington M.M. Robinson Transportation SHSM Program Brochure

Automotive and Engineering Design

Tony Assenza
assenzat@hdsb.ca
Nelson High School Burlington Nelson Automotive and Engineering Design Transportation SHSM Program Brochure

Auto Body, Collision and Refinishing

 

Michael D'Agostino
dagostinom@hdsb.ca
Nelson High School Burlington

Nelson Automotive, Auto Body, Collision and Refinishing SHSM Program Brochure

Motorcycles, Small Engines, Marine and Automotive

Kevin Worster
worsterk@hdsb.ca
White Oaks Secondary School Oakville White Oaks Motorcycles, Small Engines, Marine and Automotive SHSM Flyer
Transportation Technology

Cesar Da Silva
DaSilvaC2@hcdsb.org

Bishop Reding Catholic Secondary Milton Download PDF

Transportation Technology

 

Dan Bujold
bujoldd@hdsb.ca
Milton District High School Milton Milton Transportation Technology SHSM Flyer
Transportation Technology

Bruce Law
LawB@hcdsb.org

Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary Oakville Download PDF