Pathways Logo

Engineering, Manufacturing & Robotics

The Specialist High Skills Major (SHSM) program in Manufacturing gives students an opportunity to specialize, gain qualifications, and plan a career pathway in various areas of the Health and Wellness sector while still in high school. The SHSM Program has a number of required components, designed to give students a “leg-up” to pursue post-secondary opportunities in each of the identified sectors, valuing apprenticeship, college, community, university and the workplace.

Automobiles, wood products, petroleum and coal products, iron and steel mills, primary metals and fabricated metal products, electricity, plastics and rubber products, printing, biotechnology, textiles, clothing, and leather products are all aspects of the manufacturing sector. In Ontario, the manufacturing sector still accounts for the greatest number of jobs with its production of consumer and industrial goods that are essential for the province’s prosperity. Although the manufacturing sector remains a powerhouse in our economy, contributing 15 per cent of gross domestic product in 2007, the sector is undergoing fundamental change to refocus its strategy and remain competitive in a global economy. 

LOCATIONS:

HDSB SECTOR BROCHURE:

Manufacturing.jpg

PROGRAM NAME Contact LOCATION CITY SHSM FLYER

Engineering, Manufacturing & Robotics**

 

Chris Arnold

arnoldc@hdsb.ca

Burlington Central High School Burlington Download PDF  

Engineering, Manufacturing & Robotics**

 

Andy Sterpin

sterpinan@hdsb.ca

 Eric Daviau

daviaue@hdsb.ca

Milton District High School Milton Download PDF  

Engineering, Manufacturing & Robotics** 

 

Dave Hammel

hammeld@hdsb.ca

M.M. Robinson High School Burlington Download PDF  
Manufacturing: Welding, CNC, CAD-CAM

 Ned Vicic

VicicN@hcdsb.org

Notre Dame Catholic Secondary School Burlington Coming Soon!

Manufacturing & Welding

 

 

Colin Post

postc@hdsb.ca

Robert Bateman High School Burlington Download PDF  

Engineering, Manufacturing & Robotics**

 

 

Chuck Woods

woodsc@hdsb.ca

Andy Palmer

palmera@hdsb.ca

Oakville Trafalgar High School Oakville Coming Soon!

 ** Indicates the program can also be combined with a Dual Credit program