Pathways Logo

Arts & Culture

The Specialist High Skills Major (SHSM) program in Arts and Culture gives students an opportunity to specialize, gain qualifications, and plan a career pathway in various areas of the Arts and Culture sector while still in high school. The SHSM Program has a number of required components, designed to give students a “leg-up” to pursue post-secondary opportunities in each of the identified sectors, valuing apprenticeship, college, community, university and work.

The Arts and Culture sector offers students opportunities to get inspired and use their unique skills and abilities in careers in visual arts, drama and performance, technical theatre, dance, media and many other creative areas.

HDSB SECTOR BROCHURE:

 Arts & Culture.jpg

LOCATIONS:

PROGRAM NAME Contacts          LOCATION CITY SHSM FLYER

Performing Arts

                                    

Matt Baxter

baxterma@hdsb.ca

Burlington Central High School Burlington Download PDF

Creative Performing Arts and Technology

 

 Marsha King kingm@hdsb.ca

Marisa Cavataio

 cavataiom@hdsb.ca

Duncan Warrener

 warrenerd@hdsb.ca 

Nelson High School Burlington Download PDF

Music & Theatre Arts Program

Lee Banks 

banksle@hdsb.ca

M.M. Robinson High School Burlington  

Visual Arts, Drama, Hairstyling 

 

Sheri Snook 

snooks@hdsb.ca 

Shannon O’Brien 

obriens@hdsb.ca 

Melanie Penner

pennerm@hdsb.ca

Craig Kielburger Secondary School Milton  Download PDF

Creative Arts and Technology

 

Brian Vincent

vincentb@hdsb.ca 

Fraser Houston

houstonf@hdsb.ca 

Sylvia Goncalves

goncalvess@hdsb.ca 

Amy Abbott

abbotta@hdsb.ca

T.A. Blakelock High School Oakville Download PDF

Visual Arts and Design Program 

 

Tiffany Olmsted

olmstedt@hdsb.ca 

Tim Butler

butlert@hdsb.ca

Iroqouis Ridge Oakville  Download PDF

Music, Visual Arts and Drama

 

Carmen Gassi 

gassic@hdsb.ca 

Leah Bice 

bicel@hdsb.ca 

Heather Wilford 

wilfordh@hdsb.ca

White Oaks Secondary School Oakville Download PDF

Arts and Culture

 Mark Galante

GalanteM@hcdsb.org

Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School Oakville Download PDF
Musical Theatre and Performing Arts

 Sue File

FileS@hcdsb.org

Christ the King Catholic Secondary School Georgetown Download PDF